Evolve

“We have a tendency to want the other person to be a finished product while we give ourselves the grace to evolve.” -TD Jakes

I know I am guilty of this. I always set the bar too high for my husband and I think that he should be perfect and always know the signs of when I’m hurting or when I’m angry or upset with him. But that’s not right.

I put too much pressure on him to be this complete perfect person for me and I know I do it and I know it’s wrong but I still have the mentality that he needs to do, do, do!

And I know I’m not perfect but in all of my mental and chronic battles, I tend to see things one-sided. I tend to think that he should feel my pain and go through what I go through. But is that fair?? Am I asking too much?

I think to a point I am. I place too much emphasis on my problems and never remember to ask him about his problems or what he may be feeling. And it’s not because I don’t care. I do care. I just forget because I have all of these problems and aches and pains of my own that I always get too wrapped up in them so see if my husband is feeling bad or needs anything.

I want him to be the strong and capable one when I know that love is a two way street. I need to work on that so that I can allow my husband some slack and maybe, hopefully, we can evolve together. 🙂

“Love is a commitment to protecting another parson’s heart with the same passion as you use to guard your own.” -Rob Hill Sr

Penny for Your Thoughts?

